COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

SUSAN CLARKE SCHAAR CLERK OF THE SENATE P.O. BOX 396 RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23218



April 24, 2014

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

On April 22, 2014, the Senate Committee on Rules made the following appointments and reappointments of senators and citizens to commissions and other groups. New appointments and reappointments are listed in *italics*.

EXISTING COMMISSIONS AND OTHER GROUPS

AEROSPACE ADVISORY COUNCIL

Senator Jennifer T. Wexton of Loudoun

BLOCK GRANTS

Senator Charles J. Colgan of Prince William, Senator Stephen H. Martin of Chesterfield, Senator L. Louise Lucas of Portsmouth, Senator Richard H. Black of Loudon and *Senator Linda T. Puller of Southeastern Fairfax County*

CAPITOL SQUARE PRESERVATION COUNCIL

David B. Bradley of Richmond and Edward J. Gillikin Jr. of Richmond

COMMUNITY INTEGRATION ADVISORY COMMISSION

Dana Parsons of Glen Allen, Karen Michalski-Karney of Roanoke, John Heath of Henrico and Bonnie L. O'Day of Alexandria

DISABILITY COMMISSION

Senator Linda T. Puller of Southeastern Fairfax County, Senator David W. Marsden of Western Fairfax County, Frank D. Lombardi, Jr. of Loudoun and Nancy Mercer of Fairfax

FUTURE, COUNCIL ON VIRGINIA'S

Senator Walter A. Stosch of Henrico, Senator Charles J. Colgan of Prince William, Senator Richard L. Saslaw of Fairfax County, Senator Thomas K. Norment Jr. of James City, Senator Jeffrey L. McWaters of Virginia Beach and *C. Burke King of Richmond*

INDIGENT DEFENSE COMMISSION, VIRGINIA

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, of Richmond City, Senator A. Donald McEachin of Henrico, Alan E. Rosenblatt of Virginia Beach, *Stephen D. Benjamin of Richmond and Edward W. Hanson of Virginia Beach*

INNOVATION AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP INVESTMENT AUTHORITY

Ray O. Johnson of Bethesda, MD, Karen Booth Adams of Richmond and Don Rainey of Vienna

INSTITUTE FOR ADVANCED LEARNING AND RESEARCH, BOARD OF TRUSTEES

James A. L. Daniel of Danville, Roy N. Ford, Jr. of Danville and Angeline D. Godwin of Martinsville

KING, JR., DR. MARTIN LUTHER, MEMORIAL COMMISSION

Senator Henry L. Marsh, III, of Richmond City, Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. of Mecklenburg, Senator Mamie E. Locke of Hampton, Senator William M. Stanley, Jr. of Franklin County, *Juanita Owens Wyatt of Petersburg, Kirk T. Schroder of Richmond and Ronald L. Carey of Richmond*

MODELING AND SIMULATION ADVISORY COUNCIL

Senator Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr. of Accomack

NORTHERN VIRGINIA TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Senator Richard H. Black of Loudon and Senator Jennifer T. Wexton of Loudoun

PUBLIC/PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE

Elizabeth B. Daley of Richmond

ROANOKE RIVER BASIN ADVISORY COMMITTEE, VIRGINIA

Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. of Mecklenburg, Senator William M. Stanley, Jr. of Franklin County and *Al Zimmerman of South Boston*

RURAL VIRGINIA BOARD OF TRUSTEES, CENTER FOR

Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. of Mecklenburg, Senator Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. of Augusta, *Katie Frazier of Midlothian, Dale Moore of Altavista, Morgan Wright of Warsaw and Ronald J. Jefferson of Richmond*

SOUTHERN STATES ENERGY BOARD

Senator John C. Watkins of Powhatan, Senator John S. Edwards of Roanoke City as an alternate and Senator Frank W. Wagner of Virginia Beach as an alternate

SUBSTANCE ABUSE SERVICES COUNCIL

Senator George L. Barker of Southern Fairfax County and Senator Jennifer T. Wexton of Loudoun

VIRGINIA COMMONWEALTH UNIVERSITY HEALTH SYSTEM AUTHORITY, BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE

Senator Ryan T. McDougle of Hanover, Robert M. Blue of Richmond and Bruce E. Mathern of Richmond

VETERANS SERVICES FOUNDATION, BOARD OF TRUSTEES

James B. Boyd of Richlands, Francis J. Driscoll of Chesapeake and Patrick Webb of Staunton

VIRGINIA FOUNDATION FOR HEALTHY YOUTH

Senator Thomas A. Garrett, Jr. of Louisa and Senator John C. Miller of Newport News

VIRGINIA ISRAEL ADVISORY BOARD

Jeffrey F. Brooke of Roanoke, Jay B. Myerson of Reston, David Tenzer of Roanoke, Joel Kanter of Glen Allen, Larry Davidson of Roanoke and Abby W. Moore of Richmond

WAR MEMORIAL FOUNDATION, BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Senator John S. Edwards of Roanoke City, Senator Ralph K. Smith of Roanoke County, Senator Richard H. Black of Loudon and *Senator Linda T. Puller of Southeastern Fairfax County*

WAR OF 1812 COMMISSION, VIRGINIA BICENTENNIAL OF THE AMERICAN

Senator Stephen H. Martin of Chesterfield, Senator George L. Barker of Southern Fairfax County, Senator John C. Miller of Newport News and *Nancy Heuser of Colonial Heights*

YOUTH, COMMISSION ON

Senator Stephen H. Martin of Chesterfield, Senator Barbara A. Favola of Arlington and Senator David W. Marsden of Western Fairfax County

NEW COMMISSIONS AND OTHER GROUPS

CIVICS EDUCATION, COMMISSION ON

Senator J. Chapman Petersen of Fairfax City, Senator Richard H. Black of Loudon, Senator David W. Marsden of Western Fairfax County, James H. Dillard, II of Fairfax, Robert R. Gibson of Charlottesville and Ginger Stanley of Glen Allen

CONFLICT OF INTEREST AND ETHICS ADVISORY COUNCIL

Senator Thomas K. Norment Jr. of James City, The Honorable John H. Chichester of Reedville, John Bennett of Richmond and Bill Leighty of Richmond

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS, JOINT COMMITTEE TO STUDY STAFFING LEVELS AND EMPLOYMENT CONDITIONS

Senator Linda T. Puller of Southeastern Fairfax County, Senator Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. of Augusta, Senator David W. Marsden of Western Fairfax County, Senator Kenneth C. Alexander of Norfolk, Senator Jennifer T. Wexton of Loudoun, The Honorable Kenneth W. Stolle of Virginia Beach, Steve Morris of Churchville, Donald Baylor of Emporia, Joey O'Ouinn of Haysi

FLOODING. JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE TO FORMULATE RECOMMENDATIONS

Senator Mamie E. Locke of Hampton, Senator Jeffrey L. McWaters of Virginia Beach, Senator Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr. of Accomack and The Honorable James Wood of Virginia Beach

HAMPTON ROADS TRANSPORTATION ACCOUNTABILITY COMMISSION

Senator L. Louise Lucas of Portsmouth and Senator Frank W. Wagner of Virginia Beach

INTERSTATE 73, JOINT COMMITTEE TO STUDY

Senator Stephen D. Newman of Lynchburg, Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. of Mecklenburg, Senator R. Creigh Deeds of Bath, Senator Ralph K. Smith of Roanoke County, Senator William M. Stanley, Jr. of Franklin County, Senator Charles W. Carrico, Sr. of Grayson, Ben Davenport of Danville, George Lester of Martinsville, Dana Martin of Roanoke, Chris Morrill of Roanoke and William Fralin of Roanoke

KINDERGARTEN, JOINT COMMITTEE TO STUDY THE POTENTIAL EFFECTS OF MANDATING FULL-DAY

Senator Stephen D. Newman of Lynchburg, Senator Linda T. Puller of Southeastern Fairfax County, Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. of Mecklenburg, Senator Mamie E. Locke of Hampton, Senator George L. Barker of Southern Fairfax County, Senator John C. Miller of Newport News and Senator Barbara A. Favola of Arlington

MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURY, JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE TO STUDY

Senator Janet D. Howell of Northern Fairfax County, Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. of Augusta, Senator Linda T. Puller of Southeastern Fairfax County, Senator R. Creigh Deeds of Bath and Senator George L. Barker of Southern Fairfax County

SECURE COMMONWEALTH PANEL (RECODIFIED)

Senator John C. Watkins of Powhatan, Senator Jeffrey L. McWaters of Virginia Beach, Senator Thomas A. Garrett, Jr. of Louisa, Margaret Vanderhye of McLean and Joseph F. Bouchard of Chesapeake

STANDARDS OF LEARNING INNOVATION COMMITTEE

Senator R. Creigh Deeds of Bath and Senator John C. Miller of Newport News

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT, VIRGINIA BOARD OF (RECODIFIED)

Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. of Mecklenburg and Senator John C. Miller of Newport News
